Connect with us


Becky Hammon, DeLisha Milton-Jones, Penny Taylor among 12 finalists for Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame



New Las Vegas Aces coach Becky Hammon and fellow former WNBA gamers DeLisha Milton-Jones and Penny Taylor are amongst 12 finalists for induction into the Ladies’s Basketball Corridor of Fame, it was introduced Thursday.

All three are being nominated as gamers.

The inductees will likely be introduced Feb. 14 on ESPN2 in the course of the Maryland at Iowa ladies’s sport, which begins at 9 p.m. ET. The induction ceremony is June 11 in Knoxvillle, Tennessee.

Hammon, who performed collegiately at Colorado State, competed for 16 seasons within the WNBA for the New York Liberty and San Antonio Stars. She performed twice for Russia within the Olympics. Hammon, who’s in her eighth season as an assistant coach for the San Antonio Spurs, will be part of the Las Vegas Aces after ending the NBA season.

Milton-Jones received the Wade Trophy as a senior at Florida in 1997, then performed one season within the ABL earlier than going to the WNBA for 17 seasons. She received WNBA titles with the Los Angeles Sparks in 2001 and 2002. She received two Olympic gold medals with america (2000 and 2008) and is presently head coach at Previous Dominion.

Taylor performed 13 seasons within the WNBA, profitable championships with the Phoenix Mercury in 2007, 2009 and 2014. She was additionally a longtime member of the Australian nationwide staff, medaling twice within the Olympics and 3 times within the FIBA World Championship, together with the 2006 gold.

Two different gamers had been additionally nominated: Alice “Cookie” Barron and Cathy Boswell. Barron performed for the Waylon Baptist Flying Queens in Texas within the Nineteen Fifties, profitable three nationwide championships, and helped america win the 1957 FIBA World Championship. Boswell was a two-time All-American for Illinois State within the early Eighties and performed for the U.S. Olympic staff that received gold in 1984.

4 had been nominated as coaches: Paul Sanderford, Bob Schneider, Evelyn Blalock and Doug Bruno.

Sanderford led Western Kentucky to 3 journeys to the Ladies’s Remaining 4. Schneider received 5 state highschool ladies’ championships in Texas and has 634 Division II ladies’s collegiate victories. Blalock led Kilgore Faculty in Texas to 3 junior-college nationwide championships. Bruno is in his thirty sixth season at DePaul and has an in depth historical past with USA Basketball.

Nominated as contributors are broadcaster Debbie Antonelli, referee Lisa Mattingly and athletic administrator Donna Lopiano.

Antonelli has been an analyst for 34 years. Mattingly, who has officiated within the school sport and the WNBA, has labored on the Ladies’s Remaining 4 17 instances. Lopiano was ladies’s athletics director at Texas from 1975 to 1992 and chief govt officer of the Ladies’s Sports activities Basis from 1992 to 2007.

Copyright © 2022