Connect with us


AFC Champions League | Mumbai City FC drawn alongside Al Shabab and Al Jazira



Within the AFC Champions League 2022, reigning ISL champions Mumbai Metropolis FC have been drawn in Group B with Air Drive Membership of Iraq, Al Shabab, and Al Jazira of the UAE. Mumbai Metropolis FC shall be making their first debut within the AFC Champions League, and had certified after profitable ISL 2020-21.

After FC Goa, Mumbai City FC is simply the second Indian soccer crew to compete within the AFC Champions League in 2021. FC Goa got here in third place in Group E and didn’t advance previous the preliminary spherical.

The AFC Champions League 2022 group rounds will happen from April 7 to April 27. The double round-robin matches shall be held at a central location to be disclosed later.

“We’re very excited. We all the time wish to compete with the perfect and collaborating within the AFC Champions League permits us to take action,” stated Des Buckingham, the top coach of Mumbai Metropolis FC.

“Our goal shall be to get to the AFC Champions League off the again of a profitable ISL. We wish to ensure we characterize Mumbai nicely and provides a superb exhibiting of Indian soccer on the Asian stage,” he added.

It goes with out saying, Mumbai Metropolis FC shall be up in opposition to some robust competitors within the occasion. Al Jazira has received the UAE Professional League 3 times, whereas Al Shabab has received the Saudi Premier League an astonishing quantity of six occasions and reached the AFC Champions League semi-finals twice.

The Iraqi Premier League has been received seven occasions, whereas the AFC Cup has been received 3 times by the Air Drive Membership.

The Air Drive Membership had been the rationale Bengaluru FC‘s dream run got here to an finish within the AFC Cup 2016 remaining, which the Indian soccer followers are very aware of.

The Asian Soccer Confederation (AFC) carried out the AFC Champions League group stage draw by means of a digital ceremony. The attracts had been positioned in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on the AFC headquarters.

The AFC Champions League 2022 is split into ten teams of 4 groups every. The highest six groups from every group, in addition to the six greatest second-placed groups, will proceed to the spherical of 16.

Al Hilal of Saudi Arabia who had received the earlier 12 months’s title, are in Group A, together with Qatar’s Al Rayyan and Tajikistan’s Istiklol. Teams A-E are for golf equipment from West Asia, whereas Teams F-J is for golf equipment from East Asia. Melbourne Metropolis FC, an Australian crew, can even make their AFC Champions League debut, competing in Group G.

Observe us on Fb here

Keep linked with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram web page here

Copyright © 2022